Donut Muffins

I am a breakfast person. Even on weekdays, I make time for a good morning meal. I wake up, shower, start my coffee and then usually whip something up in 15 mins or less. Lately, I saute a little garlic in some butter, throw in some sliced shiitake mushrooms and chopped spinach for a min before I add eggs to scramble. Then I season with salt and pepper to taste. Yum. Otherwise I’ve been known to fry some eggs that I place on top of buttered toast, or I speed through a tried and true crepe recipe or make some pancakes. If you’re used to just waking up and scarfing down a bowl of cereal, this may seem like a lot of work. In my case, making breakfast helps me wake up and puts me in a good mood for the rest of the day. If I felt that it took a considerable amount of work, I probably wouldn’t do it, but the outcome for such minimal effort can be truly rewarding.

Like making mini donut muffins! I got this recipe from allrecipes, although one reviewer states that it’s originally it from the Colorado Cache Cookbook. If you don’t have enough time in the morning during the week to try these then wait til the weekend, but do it! I absolutely love recipes that only call for basic ingredients, stuff we all have lining our cabinets but don’t always use. Such as nutmeg! Poor, under-appreciated unless it’s a holiday, nutmeg. After checking out a few sites, I found that ground spices have a shelf life between 6 months and 3 years. Uh, when was it that I bought my nutmeg?! Seriously, I have got to use it more. And, even if it should be fine after 3 years, it most certainly will not add the flavor to a dish after a year as it did when it was first opened. So folks, stop throwing your money at fellas like Krispy or Dunkin and hiding it with your spices in your pantry for 3 years and make some donuts yourself once in a while!

Donut Muffins: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Donut-Muffins/Detail.aspx

Ingredients:

donuts

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4 cup margarine, melted 

I used real butter

3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup all-purpose flour

sugar coating

1/4 cup margarine, melted

1/2 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease 24 mini-muffin cups
  2. Mix 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup margarine, and nutmeg in a large bowl. Stir in the milk, then mix in the baking powder and flour until just combined. Fill prepared mini muffin cups about half full.
  3. Bake in preheated oven until tops are lightly golden, 15-20 mins.
  4. While muffins bake, place 1/4 cup melted margarine in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix together 1/2 cup of sugar with the cinnamon. Remove muffins from their cups, dip one muffin at a time in the melted margarine and roll in the sugar-cinnamon mixture before dipping the next. Let cool and serve.

You can use margarine and whatever kind of milk you have in the fridge. I prefer the flavor of real butter and whole milk. Consult Shirely on the matter in Cookwise. She explains that lactose is the sugar in milk and acts as a sweetener (p. 79). The further away from whole milk you get, the more water you get. And, well, water is flavorless for the most part. Since margarine can be ≥ 50% water, there’s really no comparing it’s flavor to that of real butter. Again, it’s up to you!

My donut muffins were delicious! I daydreamed about my daughter’s future sleepovers and how cool it would be for her and her friends to wake up to fresh donut bites. I used to be impressed when my friends would make jiffy muffins in the morning…I’d say breakfast from scratch trumps breakfast from box any day! Although now I’m worried that I may be setting the standards and expectations too high for my family…am I ruining the classic milk and cereal for my child? Will she scoff at instant mixes and cold meals? Carlos and I are not much at scoffing, so I think we’re safe.

Lastly, I’d like to say that I think this could be done on a weekday morning. You may want to check on the baking process in between a few steps but try it this way:

  1. wake up with enthusiasm, you’re about to have a fun new breakfast!
  2. Get that coffee brewing (2 mins)
  3. Follow the directions and bake those donuts (10-15 mins for preparation)
  4. jump in for a quick shower while the donuts are in the oven (10 mins)
  5. get dressed (5 mins)
  6. check on muffins, take ‘em outta the oven, finishing touches
  7. sit down and enjoy your coffee and donuts or make it to-go!

Remember: The more you bake, the quicker you will get with prep time!

One thought on “Donut Muffins

  1. Pingback: An Almost Done Tub of Margarine Tells a Fresh One How It Is | myothervoices

Leave a Reply

