IMG_8863

Spinach Egg White Frittata with Feta Cheese

IMG_8863

The title of this recipe is missing something. I would suggest adding the words cherry tomato in there somewhere. Maybe even call it Cherry Tomato Egg White Frittata with Feta Cheese and Spinach. But really I would prefer to keep the title the same and take out all but a few halved cherry tomatoes tossed on the top of the frittata along with the feta.

If you really like cherry tomatoes, this may be the dish for you! Here are my issues with the cooked tomatoes in this breakfast:

  1. They are juicy- I basically wanted more of the rest of the recipe and less watery flavorless liquid. There is so much flavor in the other ingredients and each bite with tomato (which was every other bite) was bland in comparison.
  2. They are hot (temperature wise)- Ever burned your mouth on pizza sauce? How about chili? Yeah, it’s like that. I scalded my mouth a bit. I mean, the rest of the frittata seemed like it cooled off, but no. I hate that. I really do. And I’m even the kind of person that enjoys drinking hot, really hot not just room temperature, drinks. The difference between hot chocolate or hot apple cider and cooked tomatoes is that I’m prepared for the heat of the drink and never for the hot tomato. So use a cup or a few cherry tomatoes, whatever, just BE PREPARED!

Enough about tomatoes, my other issue with this recipe (which is probably somehow my fault, although I’m not sure how yet…) is that it took more like 30-40 mins before there was no “giggle,” as the author writes, and the frittata was fully cooked. I can only assume that the author either lives in a Disney movie and uses very happy eggs to cook with or she meant to write jiggle. Either way, it took me much longer to bake. And lastly, as you may notice when I cut and paste the recipe here, I believe she meant to write Cool instead of Cook for 5 mins after you take the frittata out of the oven.

So, cut down on the tomatoes, bake past the jiggle and this breakfast is yummy!

Recipe: http://www.thenovicechefblog.com/2011/04/protein-meets-flavor/

Ingredients:

1 teaspoon olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 very full cups fresh spinach, roughly chopped
1 cup egg whites
2 tablespoons fat free milk
2 green onions, chopped
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1/3 cup crumbled reduced fat feta cheese
salt and pepper, to taste
olive oil in your misto, to grease bowl (or you can use pam)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease 9 inch baking dish with butter.

Heat olive oil in a non stick skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic for 30 seconds, or until fragrant. Add onion and cook for 2-3 minutes and add spinach, cook until wilted. Remove from heat.

In a large bowl, whisk together, egg whites, milk, and salt and pepper to taste. Then carefully stir in green onions, cherry tomatoes, and the spinach mixture.

Pour the mixture into your pre-greased dish. Sprinkle feta cheese along the top and give a little sprinkle of salt and pepper. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until center is set (no giggle-wish I could bake my thighs till they wouldn’t giggle). Cook for 5 minutes, then serve.

Leave a Reply

